top of page

Fri, Dec 09

|

Linz

Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert

Basma & Orwa are the perfect balance between the elegant heritage of Syrian songs and contemporary expressionism mixed with jazz elements >>> live music

Registration complete
view events
Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert
Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert

Zeit & Ort

Dec 09, 2022, 7:30 PM

Linz, Sonnensteinstrasse 11-13, 4040 Linz, Austria

Über die Veranstaltung

Concert € 21 regular / € 12 reduced

Also available at the box office if not sold out online

Start: 7:30 p.m., admission from 7 p.m., bar open

Basma   & Orwa are the perfect balance between elegant heritage  Syrian songs and contemporary expressionism mixed with jazz  Elementen With the poetic words of old Sufi poems and Basma's   warm and powerful voice, surrounded by the profound Oud Orwas, the charismatic duo is currently uniting generations worldwide. In   they redefine old Arabic melodies in an extraordinary way and   bring them into the present day.

Press:

Alarabya UK:“... The album and its songs, are some torn or scattered images, assembled to take their current form in its content. ...”

Culture week: “...  light off. Eyes closed. The music on “The songs we still remember” is   really meditative, warmly enveloping and gives security. ...”

O1:“..."The  Songs We Still Remember” - that's the name of Basma Jabr's and Orwa Saleh's first   joint album full of melancholic memories of a broken _cc781905-5cde-3194 bb3b-136bad5cf58d_culture and a broken time. Today they present these skin-crushing songs under   in the “radio session”..”

Basmais a Kuwait-born, Syrian-raised singer now based in Vienna. With popular soundtracks in Syria, Basma has become a star of the young Syrian generation. Through her work with Orwa Saleh and her participation in various projects, Basma has entered the Austrian music scene as one of the most respected world music vocalists. In recent years she has played and recorded all over Europe. Basma's breathtaking voice, her outstanding character and her presence on stage occupy every room.

Orva:From old Syrian stories and contemporary impressions, Orwa knits his unmistakable, colorful music with stories and poems. The Syrian oud player and composer left Damascus in 2012. He adds jazz and rock elements to the Arabic melodies. With this progressive approach, Orwa found his uniqueness by redefining oud playing. This is how Orwa builds his career in Austria and leaves his mark on Austrian jazz and world music. With his music project "Ruh" he won the Integration Prize of the City of Linz in 2015. He released his latest album "The Songs We Still Remember" in 2019. He also played in various formations on various stages worldwide and composed for both series and films.

Photo ©Georg Cizek-Graf

Tickets

  • concert full price

    Ticket to the concert Basma & Orwa

    €21.00
    Sale ended
  • concert discount price

    please show the reason for the discount (ID etc.) at the checkout!

    €12.00
    Sale ended

Total

€0.00

Teile diese Veranstaltung

bottom of page

top of page

Fr., 09. Dez.

|

Linz

Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert

Basma & Orwa sind die vollkommene Balance zwischen dem eleganten Erbe syrischer Lieder und zeitgenössischem Expressionismus, gemischt mit Jazz Elementen >>> Live Musik

Anmeldung abgeschlossen
Veranstaltungen ansehen
Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert
Basma & Orwa LIVE in Concert

Zeit & Ort

09. Dez. 2022, 19:30

Linz, Sonnensteinstraße 11-13, 4040 Linz, Österreich

Über die Veranstaltung

Konzert € 21 regulär / € 12 ermäßigt

auch an der Abendkasse erhältlich sofern online nicht ausverkauft

Start: 19:30, Einlass ab 19:00, Bar geöffnet

Basma  & Orwa sind die vollkommene Balance zwischen dem eleganten Erbe  syrischer Lieder und zeitgenössischem Expressionismus, gemischt mit Jazz  Elementen. Mit den poetischen Worten alter Sufi-Gedichte und Basma’s  warmer und kraftvoller Stimme, umrundet von der tiefgründigen Oud Orwas,  vereint das charismatische Duo derzeit Generationen weltweit. Auf  außergewöhnliche Weise definieren sie alte arabische Melodien neu und  versetzen sie ins Heute.

Presse:

Alarabya UK: “... The album and its songs, are some torn or scattered images, assembled to take their current form in its content. ...”

Kulturwoche: “...  Licht aus. Augen zu. Die Musik auf “The songs we still remember” ist  richtig meditativ, warm einhüllend und schenkt Geborgenheit. ...”

Ö1: “..."The  Songs We Still Remember” - so heißt Basma Jabrs und Orwa Salehs erstes  gemeinsames Album voll melancholischer Erinnerungen an eine zerrüttete  Kultur und an eine zerrüttete Zeit. Heute präsentieren sie diese unter  die Haut gehenden Lieder in der “Radiosession”..”

Basma ist eine in Kuwait geborene, in Syrien aufgewachsener Sängerin, die heute in Wien lebt. Mit populären Soundtracks in Syrien ist Basma ein Star der jungen syrischen Generation geworden. Durch ihre Arbeit mit Orwa Saleh und ihre Teilnahme an verschiedenen Projekten ist Basma als einer der angesehensten Weltmusik-Vocals in die Musikszene Österreichs geworden. In den letzten Jahren hat sie in ganz Europa gespielt und aufgenommen. Basmas atemberaubende Stimme, ihr herausragender Charakter und ihre Präsenz auf der Bühne, nehmen jeden Raum ein.

Orwa: Aus alten syrischen Geschichten und zeitgenössischen Eindrücken strickt Orwa seine unverwechselbare farbenfrohe Musik mit Geschichten und Gedichten. Der syrische Oud-Spieler und Komponist, hat 2012 Damaskus verlassen. Zu den arabischen Melodien, fügt er Jazz- und Rockelemente hinzu. Mit diesem progressiven Ansatz fand Orwa seine Einzigartigkeit, indem er das Oud-Spielen neu definiert hat. So baut Orwa seine Karriere in Österreich auf und hinterlässt seine Spuren in der österreichischen Jazz- und Weltmusik. Mit seinem Musikprojekt „Ruh“ gewann er 2015 den Integrationspreis der Stadt Linz. Sein neustes Album «The Songs We Still Remember» veröffentlichte er 2019. Außerdem spielte er in unterschiedlichen Formationen auf diversen Bühnen weltweit und komponierte sowohl für Serien als auch für Filme.

Foto ©Georg Cizek-Graf

Tickets

  • Konzert Vollpreis

    Ticket zum Konzert Basma & Orwa

    21,00 €
    Verkauf beendet
  • Konzert Rabattpreis

    bitte Rabattgrund (Ausweis etc.) an der Kasse vorzeigen!

    12,00 €
    Verkauf beendet

Gesamtsumme

0,00 €

Diese Veranstaltung teilen

bottom of page